Print Home > Products And Solutions > Insurance > Insurance Products
 
 
Umbrella_ftprints_715.jpg
 

How often have you thought to yourself, “Where does the time go?” Planning for tomorrow is always on the top of our “to-do list,” but somehow life gets in the way and we don’t get around to things like life insurance. We understand that thinking about life insurance isn’t fun. But it is necessary.

Some people find life insurance confusing. What type of policy to buy, when to buy it and how much to buy are all important questions you should consider when it comes to protecting your family’s future.

While this website will provide you with some basic information about life insurance it is strongly recommended that you contact a licensed life insurance professional who can help you find a solution that’s right for you.

Types of life insurance
When it comes to purchasing life insurance, you have choices. There are two basic types of life insurance: term and permanent.

 

Term insurance

Term Insurance

Term insurance, also known as temporary insurance, provides coverage for a specific length of time, usually 10 years, 20 years or 30 years. It is the most cost- effective coverage if coverage is only required for that particular term.

10-, 20- & 30-Year Term Insurance
This type of insurance can provide low-cost protection on a temporary basis for a fixed amount of time, usually 10, 20 or 30 years. And term products from Transamerica Life Canada offer many ways to customize your policy so you can get exactly what you need, for as long as you need it.
 
 
Permanent insurance

Permanent Insurance

​This type of insurance is often referred to as whole life or universal life, depending on the specifics of the product being offered. Whole life often has guaranteed premiums for life, but offers no ability to control the investments and limited flexibility in how much you pay and when you pay your premiums. Universal life, however, will provide you with premium flexibility along with full insurance coverage and a self-directed savings component built right in.
Universal Life
You’ve decided that you need life insurance. But not just any life insurance will do. You want a financial solution that will protect you during your lifetime and provide for your loved ones or beneficiaries. You may want to consider a universal life (UL) plan.
 
Permanent insurance

Critical Illness Insurance 

​Critical Illness Protection is a form of insurance that provides you with a one-time, tax-free payment if you are diagnosed with one of the critical illnesses covered in your policy. The money you receive, the Critical Illness
Benefit, can be used however you choose with no restrictions. It’s as simple as that.
It could happen… but will it?
How often are Canadians diagnosed with a critical illness like cancer or stroke? The numbers are huge…and we’ve all seen them. But what does that mean for you? Will you get a critical illness? Who knows? But what we do know is that if you are diagnosed with a critical illness, and you are a healthy person, your chances of surviving that illness are very good. But survival comes with its own set of consequences and stresses. That’s why planning for living with a critical illness makes good sense.
 
Layered insurance

Layered Insurance

A layered insurance solution is different from other types of insurance because it looks at your life as the evolving journey it is. Your financial advisor can put together a layered insurance solution so you get the protection you need for today and the security you want for tomorrow.

What, exactly, is layered insurance?

Layered insurance is exactly what it sounds like – it’s several different types, or durations, of insurance protection, such as term insurance and permanent insurance, layered on top of each other to create a customized solution that evolves as your need for protection and savings evolve.

What’s your story?

Everyone is different, and everyone has different needs and priorities when it comes to purchasing insurance and saving for the future. Some people choose to focus on paying down their debt, while others prefer to split their focus between debt repayment and savings.

Your advisor is the right person to help you decide which layered insurance solution is right for you.

Pay now, save later
For some people, saving money isn’t a priority at the moment – that will come later once the mortgage is paid off and the kids have finished their post-secondary education. If this sounds like you, then a layered approach to insurance may be exactly what you need.

As your financial responsibilities decrease, your need for insurance protection will decrease, too.  Your financial advisor can show you how applying a layered approach to your insurance coverage will allow you to shift some of the dollars you were previously allocating to insurance into long-term savings, when the time is right.
Pay now, save now

For some people, saving money is always a priority, even with other expenses like a mortgage or post-secondary education for the kids.  If this sounds like you, then a layered approach to insurance may be exactly what you need.

As your life story unfolds, your need for insurance coverage may decrease and, along with it, your monthly cost of insurance may decrease, too.  Your financial advisor can show you how you can use a layered approach to increase your savings if your need for insurance protection, and the cost of that protection, decreases.

 
 
 

Other topics in this section: Products and Solutions

Imprimer Accueil > Produits et solutions > Assurance > Produits d'assurance
 
 



Il vous est sans doute souvent arrivé de vous dire à quel point le temps file. Même si s’occuper de votre avenir est en tête de vos priorités, il vous est très facile de passer à autre chose… Nous savons que se pencher sur l’assurance vie n’est pas toujours rigolo, mais…

L’assurance vie prête à confusion. Vous êtes nombreux à le penser. Quel type d’assurance dois-je prendre? Quand faut-il la souscrire? Et combien dois-je payer? Toutes ces questions sont importantes et il faut en tenir compte si vous voulez bien assurer la protection de vos proches.

Vous trouverez ici de l’information de base. Nous vous incitons toutefois à contacter un expert du domaine, soit un représentant en assurance de personnes, qui peut vraiment vous aider à trouver la solution qui vous convient.

Types de contrat d’assurance vie
Pour vous assurer, vous avez le choix entre deux types de contrat, soit l’assurance temporaire ou permanente.
 
Term insurance

Assurance temporaire

L’assurance temporaire procure une couverture pour une période précise, soit habituellement 10, 20 ou 30 ans. Il s’agit de la protection la plus économique.

Assurance temporaire de 10, 20 ou ans
Ce type d’assurance propose une protection financièrement accessible pour une période fixe (habituellement 10, 20 ou 30 ans). Et les produits de la Transamerica vous permettent de personnaliser de bien des manières la police. Vous obtenez ainsi exactement ce dont vous avez besoin pour la durée qui vous convient. ​
 
 
Permanent insurance

Assurance permanente

​Ce type d’assurance comprend l’assurance vie entière et l’assurance vie universelle. La vie entière comporte souvent la garantie de prime la vie durant du contrat, mais exclut toute maîtrise sur les placements et restreint grandement la possibilité de changer le montant et la fréquence des primes. La vie universelle, par contre, donne une plus grande flexibilité en matière de montant et de fréquence des primes et propose en plus une protection complète et un volet autogéré « épargne » intégré.
Assurance vie universelle
Vous avez besoin d’assurance vie. Mais pas de n’importe quel régime… Vous cherchez une solution financière capable de vous donner une protection viagère et de veiller sur vos proches ou vos bénéficiaires. Pourquoi ne pas envisager un régime d’assurance vie universelle (VU)?
 
Permanent insurance

Assurance maladies graves

​L’Assurance maladies graves est un type de protection qui prévoit un versement forfaitaire unique en franchise
d’impôt à la suite du diagnostic d’une maladie couverte. Vous pouvez utiliser cette somme comme bon vous semble. Il n’y a aucune restriction. C’est en fait simple comme bonjour
Cela pourrait avoir lieu… Mais on n’est sûr de rien!
Quelle est la fréquence d’un diagnostic de maladie grave, comme le cancer ou un AVC, chez les Canadiens? Les chiffres sont impressionnants… Mais que signifient ces données pour vous? Est-ce que vous serez vous-même touché? Nous n’en savons rien. Par contre, ce que nous savons, c’est que les chances de survie du destinataire d’un tel diagnostic, s’il est en santé, sont excellentes. La survie est toutefois accompagnée de conséquences, notamment la présence de stress. C’est pourquoi il est sage de vous préparer, juste au cas où.
 
 
Layered insurance

Assurance échelonnée

La solution d’assurance échelonnée diffère d’autres types d’assurance, car elle prend en compte les événements marquants de votre vie. Votre conseiller financier peut établir pour vous une solution d’assurance échelonnée susceptible de vous donner aujourd’hui la protection dont vous avez besoin et demain la sécurité à laquelle vous aspirez.

Qu’entend-on exactement par assurance échelonnée?
Comme son nom l’indique, l’assurance échelonnée se compose de plusieurs types de protection (assurance temporaire et assurance permanente), dont la durée peut varier, et qui sont imbriqués les uns aux autres. On veut ainsi créer une solution personnalisée capable de s’adapter à vos besoins en évolution de protection et d’accumulation du patrimoine.

Quelle est l’histoire de votre vie?
Chaque vie étant unique, les besoins et les priorités en matière de souscription d’assurance et de constitution du patrimoine diffèrent d’une personne à l’autre. Certains préfèrent à tout prix se désendetter en premier alors que d’autres associent l’épargne au remboursement de leurs dettes.

Votre conseiller est la personne qui saura vous aider à choisir la solution d’assurance échelonnée vous convenant.
Payez maintenant, épargnez plus tard
Pour bien des gens, l’épargne n’est pas dans l’immédiat une priorité. Ce qui compte pour eux, c’est de purger l’hypothèque et de voir leurs enfants entrer sur le marché du travail, au terme de leurs études postsecondaires. Si vous vous identifiez à eux, l’échelonnement de l’assurance pourrait bien être ce dont vous avez besoin.

Au fur et à mesure de la diminution de vos responsabilités financières, vos besoins de protection sont également en baisse. Votre conseiller financier vous montrera comment l’assurance échelonnée permet la canalisation, le moment voulu, de sommes alors affectées aux garanties d’assurance vers la constitution d’un patrimoine.
Payez maintenant, épargnez maintenant

Pour bien des gens, l’épargne ne cesse jamais d’être une priorité, même lorsqu’il faut purger l’hypothèque ou acquitter les frais d’études post-secondaires des enfants. Si vous vous identifiez à eux, l’échelonnement de l’assurance pourrait bien être ce dont vous avez besoin.

Au fil du temps, vos besoins de protection risquent de diminuer... de même que le coût de l’assurance mensuel. Votre conseiller financier est en mesure de vous montrer comment l’échelonnement de l’assurance peut, en pareilles circonstances, faire augmenter votre épargne.