Print Home > Products And Solutions > Insurance > Critical Illness Insurance on its own
 
 

​Critical Illness Insurance

Today, the need for critical illness protection is greater than ever. Why? Medical advances coupled with greater life expectancy make it more likely for you to survive an illness that would have been fatal in the past. And if you do survive a critical illness, you may find yourself with financial challenges that you hadn’t considered such as loss of income, medical expenses or additional childcare.

Critical Illness Protection, on its own, or when bundled as a Rider with your term or universal life insurance, will provide you and your family with a broader spectrum of coverage.

 

 Overview

 

Overview

Critical Illness Protection from Transamerica can be an important part of your insurance protection needs. Purchased on its own, it may be your best option if you and your advisor agree that you have enough life insurance for your needs and you would like to add an additional layer of protection.

If you are diagnosed with a critical illness and survive for 30 days, Critical Illness Protection can help you and your family by providing a one-time, tax-free benefit payment*, called a Critical Illness Benefit. You can use the money you receive from your Critical Illness Benefit to help replace your income while you recover, pay for additional care for your children or help with unforeseen medical expenses. In fact, you can use the money you receive for anything you want with no restrictions.


* Under the Income Tax Act (Canada) and at the date of publication of this website, the receipt of Critical Illness Benefits is not currently taxable. Transamerica does not guarantee nor is it responsible for the tax treatment applicable to this policy feature. Please consult your legal or tax advisor for an opinion on this matter in relation to your particular circumstances.


Did you know…

Canadians, on average, are living longer these days. Advances in medical science have made it so that some critical illnesses that would have been fatal a few years ago are now treatable, and even curable. That’s great news for your family. However, living with a critical illness can bring with it financial challenges that you may not have considered.

That’s where Critical Illness Protection can help.

 

 What’s covered

 

What’s Covered

You have two choices when selecting a Critical Illness Protection plan. Our 4-condition product offers a more cost-conscious option while still covering conditions that generate approximately 85% of claims. Our more comprehensive 25-condition product has the added benefit of covering five childhood critical conditions until the child is age 24 plus an Early Detection Benefit.

4-condition Critical Illness Protection*
  • Cancer (life-threatening)
  • Heart attack
  • Stroke (cerebrovascular accident)
  • Coronary artery bypass surgery
25-condition Critical Illness Protection*
  • Alzheimer’s Disease
  • Aortic surgery
  • Aplastic anaemia
  • Bacterial meningitis
  • Benign brain tumour
  • Blindness
  • Cancer (life-threatening)
  • Coma
  • Coronary artery bypass surgery
  • Deafness
  • Heart attack
  • Heart valve replacement
  • Kidney failure
  • Loss of independent existence (Inability to perform two or more of: bathing, dressing, toileting, continence, transferring, feeding or cognitive impairment.)
  • Loss of limbs
  • Loss of speech
  • Major organ transplant
  • Major organ failure, on waiting list
  • Motor neuron disease
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Occupational HIV infection
  • Paralysis
  • Parkinson’s Disease
  • Severe burns
  • Stroke (cerebrovascular accident)

NOTE: Loss of Independent Existence under the policy does not apply until the age of 18 for a child coverage at which time it is automatically available.)

Childhood conditions*
  • Cerebral palsy
  • Congenital heart disease
  • Cystic fibrosis
  • Muscular dystrophy
  • Type 1 diabetes mellitus

* Full definitions can be found in the policy.

As with any insurance plan, there are some limitations and exclusions. This information will be available from your advisor and will also be in your contract.

Notes:

  1. The protection of these five childhood Critical Illness Covered Conditions are covered up to the child Life Insured’s 24th birthday.
  2. A detailed description and definition of each of these conditions and their associated exclusions, limitations and Survival Periods is set out in the policy contract. Any illness, disorder or surgery not specifically defined in the policy contract is not covered.
  3. Loss of Independent Existence under the policy does not apply until the age of 18 for a child coverage at which time it is automatically available.
 

 Benefits

 

Benefits of the product

The following benefits are built right into your Transamerica Critical Illness Protection policy.

  1. Critical Illness Benefit*
    The Critical Illness Benefit is the one-time, tax-free** amount paid when an insured is diagnosed and survives the 30 day survival period.

    *This benefit is subject to applicable conditions, exclusions and limitations that are outlined in your contract. This benefit can only be paid once and only for one Critical Illness Covered Condition. Once a Critical Illness Benefit is paid out, the policy will terminate.

  2. Return of Premium on Death Benefit (ROPD)
    The ROPD returns the full amount of the premiums you paid, without interest, for your Critical Illness Protection coverage, including the policy fee, if applicable, and any additional coverages, if you, as the insured, die while your critical illness policy is in effect and no Critical Illness Benefit has been paid on your policy.

  3. Early Detection Benefit (EDB) - Available on 25 condition plans only
    The EDB pays a one-time tax-free** amount to you, the insured, when you receive an early diagnosis on one of the four non life-threatening conditions listed below, and survive for 30-days after your diagnosis. This benefit will pay 15% of the current benefit amount up to a maximum of $50,000 per policy. Your Critical Illness Protection policy will remain in force and is not affected in any way by an Early Detection Benefit claim. The four non life-threatening conditions are:

    • Coronary angioplasty
    • Early prostate cancer
    • Ductal breast cancer
    • Superficial malignant melanoma

Note: Benefits are subject to applicable conditions, exclusions and limitations that are outlined in your contract.

** Under the Income Tax Act (Canada) and at the date of publication of this website, the receipt of Critical Illness Benefits is not currently taxable. Transamerica does not guarantee nor is it responsible for the tax treatment applicable to this policy feature. Please consult your legal or tax advisor for an opinion on this matter in relation to your particular circumstances.


Expert Medical Opinion Services*

We understand that having any medical condition is difficult and sometimes you may want a second opinion or more information. That’s why we offer you and your immediate family the Expert Medical Opinion Services (EMOS) of Advance Medical as a no-cost benefit offered with your Critical Illness Protection policy.

This benefit provides you and your immediate family access to the world’s leading medical experts to review your medical case.

This service can also be accessed at any time for any medical condition without the diagnosis of a critical illness covered condition. While your Critical Illness Protection is in force, and within one year of its expiry, there is no limit on the number of times this service can be accessed.

*Expert Medical Opinion Services is a non-contractual benefit and is subject to program availability. Services are provided solely by Advance Medical, Inc. Transamerica shall have no liability or responsibility for such services.

 

 How it works

 

How it Works

Making CI work for you

One size rarely fits all whether you are talking about the latest yoga pants or insurance protection. That’s why, when making the decision to include critical illness insurance as part of your protection plan, it is important to consider all of your options. Are you looking for short term or longer term coverage? Do you want protection for 4 conditions or 25?

Critical Illness Protection is available in three product choices to meet both short-term and long-term needs: Term 10, Term 20 and Term to age 65.

When it comes to covered conditions , you may be comfortable with 4-condition coverage which includes conditions that generate approximately 85% of claims. Or, for more comprehensive coverage, you could choose the 25-condition product that has the added benefit of covering five childhood critical conditions until the child is age 24 plus an Early Detection Benefit.

Plus, all term plans are convertible to a permanent plan and can be converted any time up to the coverage anniversary nearest to the life insured’s age 60.

Our Critical Illness Protection is available in the following coverage options. Your advisor can help you determine what type, and how much protection, is right for your needs.

 

Coverage Type Term 10 Term 20 Term to age 65
Coverage description A renewable and convertible term 10 critical illness product. A renewable and convertible term 20 critical illness product. A convertible, level premium, term to age 65 critical illness product.
Expiry Age age 75 age 75 age 65
Renewable Automatically renews every 10 or 20 years respectively to the coverage anniversary nearest the insured’s age 75 at guaranteed renewal rates. Automatically renews every 10 or 20 years respectively to the coverage anniversary nearest the insured’s age 75 at guaranteed renewal rates.
Coverage amounts available
Adults: $25,000 - $2,000,000
Juveniles: $ 25,000 - $250,000
Making a claim

We are here to help. Our claims process has been designed to make it as easy and fast as possible for you and your family during what will surely be a difficult time. If the time comes to submit a claim on your Critical Illness Protection policy, there are a few simple steps to follow, or you can call us directly at 1-800-846-5970.

A Claims Adjudicator will work personally with you, or your family members, to have your claim processed and answer any questions you may have.

Steps to submit a claim
  1. Contact your advisor or call us directly at 1-800-846-5970.
  2. We will send you the forms needed to submit your claim and assist you with any questions you may have.
  3. Complete the Claimant’s Statement yourself and take the Attending Physician’s Statement to your doctor for completion.
  4. Make sure the doctor includes a copy of your file, including relevant test results, as requested on the form.
  5. Return the completed forms to us as soon as possible. We will begin our review process as soon as we receive your forms.
After we receive the forms
  • We will contact you directly to answer your questions and explain the claims process to you.
  • We may need additional information, depending on the age of your policy and what information was provided by your doctor. Be assured that we will work quickly to obtain the information that we require.
 
 

Other topics in this section: Products and Solutions

Imprimer Accueil > Produits et solutions > Assurance > L’Assurance maladies graves - prise individuellement
 
 

​L’Assurance maladies graves

De nos jours, le besoin d’une assurance maladies graves est plus grand que jamais. Pourquoi? Le progrès de la médecine, associé à une plus grande espérance de vie, pourrait vous permettre de survivre en cas de maladie grave. Ce ne fut pas toujours le cas. La survie à une maladie grave risque de provoquer des ennuis financiers, notamment la perte de revenu et des frais médicaux ou de service de garde supplémentaires.
 
L’Assurance maladies graves, prise individuellement ou regroupée à titre d’avenant avec une assurance vie universelle ou temporaire, vous propose à vous et à vos proches une protection dont l’étendue est plus grande.
 

 Vue d’ensemble

 

Vue d’ensemble

L’Assurance maladies graves, établie par la Transamerica, peut combler un besoin de protection fort important. Prise individuellement, elle peut s’avérer un bon choix si vous et votre conseiller convenez que votre protection d’assurance vie est suffisante et que vous souhaitez « élargir » l’étendue de votre protection.

Si, après un diagnostic de maladie grave, vous survivez pendant au moins 30 jours, l’Assurance maladies graves peut vous être utile, à vous et à vos proches. Elle propose en effet le versement d’un montant forfaitaire en franchise d’impôt,* que l’on appelle la garantie de maladie grave. Vous pouvez vous en servir pour remplacer votre revenu en période de convalescence, ou prendre en charge les frais supplémentaires de garde des enfants ou les frais médicaux imprévus. En fait, vous pouvez utiliser ce montant comme bon vous semble. Il n’y a aucune restriction.

* En vertu de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu du gouvernement du Canada, les garanties prévues par l’Assurance des maladies graves n’étaient pas, à la date de publication du présent site, imposables. La Transamerica ne garantit en rien ni n’est responsable du traitement fiscal associé à ces garanties. Prière de contacter votre conseiller juridique ou fiscal pour obtenir une consultation personnalisée.


Le saviez-vous?

De nos jours, les Canadiens vivent en moyenne plus longtemps. Grâce aux progrès de la médecine, on arrive maintenant à traiter, voire guérir, des maladies graves autrefois mortelles, ce qui est une excellente nouvelle pour votre famille. Toutefois, les personnes atteintes d’une maladie grave peuvent faire face à des difficultés financières qu’on ne peut même pas imaginer.

C’est ici que l’assurance maladies graves entre en jeu.

 

 Maladies couvertes

 

Maladies couvertes

Deux possibilités s’offrent à vous lorsque vous choisissez un régime d’assurance maladies graves. Il y a tout d’abord le contrat de 4 maladies graves, option réservée aux prospects soucieux des coûts, qui couvre tout de même les maladies représentant en gros 85 % des demandes de règlement. Puis il y a le contrat de 25 maladies graves, option beaucoup plus complète, qui prend en charge également 5 maladies infantiles (prise en charge jusqu’au 24e anniversaire des jeunes assurés) et qui propose la garantie de dépistage précoce.

Contrat de 4 maladies graves*
  • Accident vasculaire cérébral (AVC)
  • Cancer (avec risque de décès à court terme)
  • Chirurgie coronarienne
  • Crise cardiaque

Contrat de 25 maladies graves*
  • Accident vasculaire cérébral (AVC)
  • Anémie aplasique
  • Brûlures sévères
  • Cancer (avec risque de décès à court terme)
  • Cécité
  • Chirurgie coronarienne
  • Chirurgie de l’aorte
  • Coma
  • Crise cardiaque
  • Infection au VIH dans le cadre de la profession
  • Insuffisance rénale
  • Maladie d’Alzheimer
  • Maladie de Parkinson
  • Maladie du neurone moteur
  • Méningite bactérienne
  • Paralysie
  • Perte d’autonomie (incapacité d’effectuer au moins deux des activités suivantes : prendre son bain, se vêtir, faire sa toilette, être continent, se mouvoir ou se nourrir).
  • Perte de parole
  • Perte des membres
  • Remplacement des valves du coeur
  • Sclérose en plaques
  • Surdité
  • Transplantation d’un organe vital
  • Transplantation d’un organe vital sur une liste d’attente
  • Tumeur cérébrale bénigne

NOTA : La perte d’autonomie ne joue pas avant le 18e anniversaire de l’assuré.

Maladies infantiles*
  • Cardiopathie congénitale
  • Diabète de type 1
  • Dystrophie musculaire
  • Fibrose kystique
  • Paralysie cérébrale

* La définition détaillée de chacune des maladies se trouve au contrat.

Comme tout régime d’assurance, l’Assurance maladies graves est assortie de limitations et d’exclusions. Pour en savoir plus, contactez votre conseiller ou consultez le contrat.

Nota:

  1. L'assurance visant les 5 maladies graves infantiles prend fin d’office au 24e anniversaire de l’assuré.
  2. La description détaillée de chacune des maladies, leur définition ainsi que les exclusions, limitations et périodes de survie sont énoncées au contrat. Sont exclus tout trouble, toute maladie et toute intervention chirurgicale non expressément définis au contrat.
  3. La perte d’autonomie ne joue pas avant le 18e anniversaire de l’assuré. Elle entre en jeu d’office à ce moment-là.
 

 Garanties du produit

 

Garanties du produit

Les garanties suivantes font partie de l’Assurance maladies graves (AMG) de la Transamerica.

  1. Garantie de maladie grave*
    Il s’agit du versement unique d’un montant forfaitaire en franchise d’impôt** qui est remis à l’assuré, s’il reçoit le diagnostic d’une des maladies couvertes et qu’il est toujours en vie au terme de la période de survie de 30 jours.

    *La garantie est assujettie aux conditions, exclusions et limitations stipulées au contrat. Elle n’est versée qu’une seule fois et seulement à l’égard d’une seule maladie grave couverte. Le contrat AMG prend fin dès le versement de la garantie.

  2. Garantie de remboursement des primes au décès (GRPD)
    La GRPD prévoit le remboursement de l’intégralité des primes de l’AMG versées par vous, sans les intérêts, y compris les frais de police, le cas échéant, ainsi que les primes de tout avenant ou de toutes couvertures supplémentaires si vous, à titre d’assuré, venez à décéder alors que le contrat est en vigueur et qu’il n’y a pas eu de paiement de la garantie de maladie grave.

  3. Garantie de dépistage précoce (GPD) – réservée au contrat de 25 maladies graves
    Il s’agit du versement unique d’un montant forfaitaire en franchise d’impôt**qui vous est remis à vous, l’assuré, si vous recevez un diagnostic précoce de l’une des quatre maladies ci-dessous qui ne comportent pas de risque de décès à court terme et que vous êtes toujours en vie au terme de la période de survie de 30 jours. Vous touchez 15 % du montant de la garantie de maladie grave actuel jusqu’à concurrence de 50 000 $ par police. Le contrat AMG reste en vigueur et n’est donc nullement touché par une demande faite en vertu de la garantie de dépistage précoce. Les quatre maladies qui ne comportent pas de risque de décès à court terme sont les suivantes :

    • Angioplastie coronarienne
    • Cancer canalaire du sein
    • Cancer de la prostate à un stade précoce
    • Mélanome malin superficiel

 

Nota: Les garanties sont assujetties aux conditions, exclusions et limitations stipulées au contrat.

** En vertu de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu du gouvernement du Canada, les garanties prévues par l’Assurance des maladies graves n’étaient pas, à la date de publication du présent site, imposables. La Transamerica ne garantit en rien ni n’est responsable du traitement fiscal associé à ces garanties. Prière de contacter votre conseiller juridique ou fiscal pour obtenir une consultation personnalisée.

Service d’expertise-conseil médicale (SECM)*

Nous savons à quel point un diagnostic médical peut être difficile à gérer et qu’à l’occasion vous pourriez vouloir une deuxième opinion. Voilà pourquoi nous vous proposons, à vous et aux membres de votre famille immédiate, les services d’Advance Medical, sans frais supplémentaires, dans le cadre de l’Assurance maladies graves.

Cette garantie vous permet, à vous et aux membres de votre famille immédiate, de faire appel à des experts médicaux de premier ordre pour qu’ils réévaluent votre dossier.

On peut faire appel en tout temps, même en l’absence d’un diagnostic de maladie grave, au service pour n’importe quel problème de santé. Il est possible d’y avoir accès autant de fois que l’on veut, à la condition que le délai avant la date d’expiration de l’Assurance de maladies graves soit supérieur à un an.

 

*Le service d’expertise-conseil médicale (SECM) est une garantie extracontractuelle et est sous réserve de la disponibilité du programme. Il est offert uniquement par Advance Medical Inc. et la Transamerica n’en assume aucune responsabilité.

 

 Modalités de souscription

 

Modalités de souscription

Adaptez l’AMG à vos besoins

Le modèle unique existe rarement, qu’il s’agisse du plus récent pantalon de yoga ou d’un régime d’assurance. Voilà pourquoi, lorsque vous décidez de souscrire une assurance maladies graves, il est important de jauger toutes les options. Voulez-vous une protection à court terme ou à plus long terme? Souhaitez-vous un contrat de 4 ou de 25 maladies graves?

L’AMG se présente sous forme de trois protections différentes, soit la Temporaire 10, la Temporaire 20 et la Temporaire jusqu’à 65 ans.

Lorsqu’il s’agit du nombre de maladies couvertes, vous pourriez, si cela vous convient, opter pour un contrat de 4 maladies graves, option qui couvre tout de même les maladies représentant en gros 85 % des demandes de règlement. Pour une protection plus complète, vous pourriez opter pour le contrat de 25 maladies graves, option qui prend également en charge 5 maladies infantiles (prise en charge jusqu’au 24e anniversaire des jeunes assurés) et qui propose la garantie de dépistage précoce.

En outre, tous les régimes d’assurance temporaire peuvent être transformés en tout temps en un régime permanent et cela, jusqu’à l’anniversaire contractuel le plus proche du 60e anniversaire de l’assuré.

Notre Assurance maladies graves est disponible selon les options suivantes. Votre conseiller peut vous aider à établir le type d’assurance et le montant de protection adaptés à vos besoins.

 

Type d’assurance Temporaire 10 Temporaire 20 Temporaire jusqu’à 65 ans
Description Une assurance de 10 ans renouvelable et transformable Une assurance de 20 ans renouvelable et transformable Une assurance jusqu’à 65 ans transformable et avec prime uniforme
Âge à l’expiration 75 ans 75 ans 65 ans
Options de renouvellement Renouvellement automatique tous les 10 ou 20 ans, selon le cas, à l’anniversaire contractuel le plus proche du 75e anniversaire de l’assuré. Garantie des taux de renouvellement. Non renouvelable
Montants de garantie Adultes : 25 000 - 2 000 000 $
Enfants : 25 000 - 250 000 $
Présentation d’une demande de règlement

Nous sommes à votre service. De par sa conception, le processus d’étude des demandes de règlement a pour objet de vous aider, vous et vos proches, à traverser le plus rapidement possible les moments difficiles. Si vous devez soumettre une demande d’Assurance maladies graves, il y a quelques étapes simples à suivre. Ou vous pouvez nous appeler directement au 1-800-846-5970.

Un expert en sinistres vous assistera personnellement, vous ou l’un de vos proches. Il vous accompagnera tout au long du traitement de votre demande et répondra à toutes vos questions.

Étapes à suivre
  1. Contactez votre conseiller ou appelez-nous directement au 1-800-846-5970.
  2. Nous vous enverrons les formulaires nécessaires et répondrons à toutes vos questions.
  3. Remplissez vous-même la Déclaration du demandeur et faites remplir par votre médecin la Déclaration du médecin traitant.
  4. Assurez-vous que le médecin a joint à la Déclaration une copie de votre dossier, y compris les résultats de tout examen pertinent (cette condition est stipulée sur le formulaire).
  5. Retournez-nous dès que possible les formulaires dûment remplis. L’étude du dossier commence dès la réception des documents.
Après la réception des formulaires
  • Nous vous contacterons directement pour répondre à vos questions et vous expliquer le processus d’examen des demandes de règlement.
  • Selon la date d’entrée en vigueur de votre police et les renseignements fournis par votre médecin, nous pourrions exiger des renseignements supplémentaires. Soyez assuré que nous ferons preuve de diligence.