Plan types

Plan Types

Put your money where it makes the most sense for you. Whether you need a tax-sheltered account, a non-registered plan or a combination of both, Transamerica can meet your needs. Segregated funds contracts from Transamerica are available for registration as various plan types.*

* Not all plan types are available in all products.

 

 

 Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA)

 

Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA)

​The Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA) was introduced by the federal government in the 2008 budget and became available to investors on January 2, 2009.

TFSAs provide you with a great way to save, tax-sheltered, for any financial goal, whether it's for a long-term goal like your retirement, or short-term like that dream vacation or a new family car. Your financial advisor can give you all of the details of this new way to save.

Key features of a TFSA:
  • Tax-free growth.

  • Flexibility to contribute and make withdrawals.

  • Save for short- or long-term goals.

  • No tax on withdrawals.

  • Any amount withdrawn can be re-contributed in future years.

  • Withdrawals are not considered income as they do not affect your eligibility for income-tested government benefits or tax credits.

  • Can hold many of the same investments as RRSPs.

For more details about TFSAs:
 

 Registered Retirement Savings Plans (RRSP)

 

​Registered Retirement Savings Plans (RRSP)

A Registered Retirement Savings Plan, or RRSP, is a plan type that provides tax benefits that allow you to save for your retirement.

RRSPs may reduce your taxes in up to three ways:
  1. Contributions to RRSPs, up to predetermined limits, may be deducted on your income before calculating income tax due.

  2. Income earned within the RRSP (interest, corporate dividends, trust distributions, capital gains) is not taxed until money is withdrawn from the plan, allowing the plan to grow faster than the same investments would grow if they were held outside the plan and were thus subject to tax.

  3. Money may be withdrawn from an RRSP during the years when you are in a lower income-tax bracket due to reduced income i.e. retirement. The money withdrawn will be taxed, but at your current tax rate, which could be lower.

 

 Non-registered plan

 

Non-registered Plan​

A non-registered plan allows you to invest your money in much the same way as you would with a Tax-Free Savings Account. However, because this plan is non-registered, it does not provide any tax-deferral benefits and it has no contribution limits.

 

 Registered Retirement Income Funds (RRIF)

 

Registered Retirement Income Funds (RRIF)

​​A Registered Retirement Income Fund, or RRIF, is a tax-deferred retirement plan that you may use to generate income from the savings accumulated under your Registered Retirement Savings Plan. As with an RRSP, an RRIF is registered with the Canada Revenue Agency.

The option exists to convert an RRSP into an RRIF anytime on or before the end of the year in which you turn 71. It is mandatory to either withdraw all funds from your RRSP plan or convert your RRSP to an RRIF or life annuity by the end of the year in which you turn 71.

Investments held inside an RRIF grow in a tax-deferred manner just as with an RRSP, but there are some differences. For example, with an RRIF, no further contributions may be made and minimum withdrawals are required. These minimums change annually, based on your age and total value of the RRIF at the beginning of the year. Your advisor can provide further information. 

 

 Life Income Fund (LIF)

 

​Life Income Fund (LIF)

A Life Income Fund (LIF) is similar to an RRIF but for funds that have been contributed through a pension plan. Money held within a LIF is highly regulated and there is a set minimum and maximum amount you may withdraw during any calendar year.

 

 Locked-in Retirement Account (LIRA)

 

​Locked-in Retirement Account (LIRA)

When you transfer assets from a registered pension plan (RPP) a defined contribution pension plan, or the commuted value of a defined benefit pension plan sponsored by a former employer, the assets must go into a LIRA*.  These funds are sheltered much like an RRSP but locked in and not accessible** until the account is converted to a  locked-in payout plan***  or an eligible life annuity.  You may need to reach a certain age, based on the applicable pension legislation, before the assets can be converted to a locked-in payout  plan*** or an eligible life annuity. By the end of the year that you turn age 71, you are required to convert your locked-in accumulation plan to an eligible life annuity and/or locked-in payout  plan.

Also note that once a plan is converted to a locked-in accumulation plan, you cannot make further contributions to it.

*Under the pension laws of certain provinces, a LIRA  is sometimes referred to as a Locked-in RSP (LRSP) or a Restricted LRSP.

** You may be able to withdraw funds from a locked-in plan under special circumstances such as financial hardship,  small account value and shortened life expectancy (based on pension legislation which varies by jurisdiction).

***A Life Income Fund or a Locked-in Retirement Income Fund (LRIF) or Restricted LIF or Prescribed RIF (PRIF) depending on the applicable pension legislation.

 
 

Other topics in this section: Products and Solutions

Imprimer Accueil > Produits et solutions > Placements > Types de régime
 
 
Plan types

Types de régime

Placez votre argent dans le régime qui vous convient. Que vous ayez besoin d'un compte à l'abri de l'impôt, d'un régime non enregistré ou d'une combinaison des deux, la Transamerica a ce qu'il faut. Les contrats de fonds distincts de la Transamerica peuvent être enregistrés en tant que divers types de régime.*

* Les types de régime ne sont pas offerts pour tous les produits.

 

 

 Compte d'épargne libre d'impôt (CELI)

 

Compte d'épargne libre d'impôt (CELI)

​Annoncé par le gouvernement fédéral dans son budget de 2008, le CELI est offert aux investisseurs depuis le 2 janvier 2009.

Le CELI vous procure un excellent moyen d'épargner, et ce, que ce soit pour un objectif financier à long terme, tel que la retraite, ou un objectif à court terme, tel une voiture ou des vacances. Votre conseiller financier peut vous fournir tous les détails sur ce nouveau véhicule d'épargne.

Caractéristiques principales du CELI :
  • Croissance à l'abri de l'impôt

  • Souplesse quant aux cotisations et aux retraits

  • Économies à court ou à long terme

  • Retraits non imposables

  • Possibilité d'ajouter les montants retirés aux cotisations des années ultérieures

  • Les retraits ne sont pas réputés être un revenu et ne modifient en rien votre admissibilité aux prestations fondées sur l'examen du revenu, ni aux crédits découlant du système fiscal

Pour obtenir plus de détails sur les CELI :
 

 Régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER)

 

​Régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER)

Le régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite ou REER vous offre des avantages fiscaux vous permettant d'épargner en vue de votre retraite.

Le REER offre trois façons de réduire vos impôts :
  1. En déduisant de votre revenu avant impôt les cotisations versées au REER, jusqu'à concurrence du montant maximum permis.

  2. En profitant du revenu gagné dans les REER (intérêt, dividendes de société, gains en capital) qui n'est pas imposable tant qu'il n'est pas retiré du régime. Le régime croît ainsi plus rapidement qu'un placement hors REER assujetti à l'impôt.

  3. En retirant les fonds du REER au moment où votre tranche d'imposition est moins élevée en raison d'un revenu réduit (à la retraite), et en étant imposé à votre taux d'imposition courant possiblement plus bas.

 

 Régime non enregistré

 

Régime non enregistré​

Un régime non enregistré est un véhicule de placement semblable au compte d'épargne libre d'impôt mais qui n'est pas enregistré. Étant donné que ce régime n'est pas enregistré, il n'offre pas le report d'impôt et ne comporte aucun plafond de cotisations.

 

 Fonds enregistré de revenu de retraite (FERR)

 

​Fonds enregistré de revenu de retraite (FERR)

 

Un fonds enregistré de revenu de retraite ou FERR est un régime de retraite à impôt différé que vous pouvez utiliser pour générer un revenu à partir des épargnes accumulées dans votre régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite. Tout comme le REER, le FERR est enregistré auprès de l'Agence du revenu du Canada.

Vous pouvez, en tout temps avant la fin de l'année au cours de laquelle vous atteignez l'âge de 71 ans, convertir un REER en un FERR. Vous êtes tenu de retirer tous les fonds de votre REER ou de le convertir en un FERR ou en une rente viagère au plus tard à la fin de l'année de votre 71e anniversaire de naissance.
Les fonds détenus dans un FERR croissent avec report d'impôt comme un REER, mais comportent des différences. Par exemple, en ce qui concerne le FERR, aucune autre cotisation ne pourra être versée et les retraits minimums devront être effectués. Ces minimums changeront chaque année en fonction de votre âge et de la valeur totale du FERR au début de l'année. Votre conseiller pourra vous fournir plus de détails.
 
 

 Fonds de revenu viager

 

Fonds de revenu viager​

Le fonds de revenu viager (FRV) est semblable au FERR mais vise les cotisations à un régime de retraite. Les fonds détenus dans un FRV sont hautement réglementés et un retrait minimum et maximum prédéterminé doit être effectué au cours de chaque année civile.

 

 Compte de retraite immobilisé (CRI)

 

Compte de retraite immobilisé (CRI)

Lorsque vous transférez des actifs à partir d’un régime de pension agréé, par exemple, un régime de retraite à cotisation déterminée, ou la valeur actualisée d’un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées parrainé par un employeur antérieur, les actifs doivent être déposés dans un CRI*.  Ces fonds bénéficient d’un abri fiscal tout comme les REER, sauf qu’ils sont immobilisés et inaccessibles**, et ce, tant que le compte n’est pas transformé en un régime de paiement de revenu immobilisé*** ou une rente viagère admissible. La loi pertinente en matière de pensions exige normalement l’atteinte d’un âge précis avant de pouvoir convertir les actifs en un régime de paiement de revenu immobilisé*** ou une rente viagère admissible. Au plus tard à la fin de l’année au cours de laquelle vous atteignez 71 ans, vous êtes tenu de transformer votre régime de capitalisation de l’actif immobilisé en une rente viagère admissible ou en un régime de paiement de revenu immobilisé.

Important : Dès qu’un régime est transformé en un régime de capitalisation de l’actif immobilisé, il y a cessation des cotisations.

*En vertu des lois de certaines provinces en matière de pension, les comptes de retraite immobilisés sont parfois appelés « RER immobilisés » (RERI) ou RERI restreints (« Restricted LRSP » en anglais).  

** Dans des conditions particulières, vous pourriez être autorisé à retirer des fonds au titre d’un régime immobilisé. Il pourrait s’agir de difficultés financières, d’une valeur de compte minime ou d’une espérance de vie réduite (selon les lois en matière de pension, lesquelles varient selon le ressort territorial).

***Par exemple, selon les lois pertinentes en matière de pension, un fonds de revenu viager (FRV), un fonds de revenu de retraite immobilisé (FRRI), un RERI restreint ou un FRR prescrit.